Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,650 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, its about time for me to be buying new arrows... and I'm stuck between the Eason Axis FMJs, Easton ST Axis, and Easton ST Epic. Is there an advantage with the FMJ? Does it give you easier arrow removal? I would also think they would be a little sturdier if someone clips your arrow or something.... I also think that the FMJs are pretty cool looking, and you get a 7.50$ mail in rebate. I have had no experience with the FMJs or the STs...Do the nanotubes really make them that much stronger? Also $$ is NOT and issue...

Thanks,
Jonny Boy

·
Registered
461 Posts
pulling

Pal,

The FMJ's penetrate so deep, they a byatch to pull out. Also, be careful of shooting a worn bag target, they WILL pass thru. Great arrows for hunting.

Best, DB

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Im thinking you are getting ready for hunting.. I guess for me I would use the st axis.. I know you said moneys not an issue.. But if the break I feel every penny.. Have you thought of acc pro hunters, damn good arrow..

·
Registered
1,650 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Im thinking you are getting ready for hunting.. I guess for me I would use the st axis.. I know you said moneys not an issue.. But if the break I feel every penny.. Have you thought of acc pro hunters, damn good arrow..
oops...forgot to mention..hunting AND target....I know that the FMJs are heavier arrows than the others....would it be safe to shoot a 500 spine at around 57-60 lbs with the FMJ?

·
Registered
3,135 Posts
Actually there is a big difference. St. Epic are gonna weigh 60+ gn less than the FMJ. Depends on what you want a lighter faster arrow or a heavy slower arrow. I have shot them both and I ended up with the St. Epic for now. I wasn't a real fan of the hit insert in the FMJ. I also believe a 400gn arrow is plenty heavy for deer. And yes I like the speed/trajectory of the lighter arrow also.

·
Registered
1,542 Posts