Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to shooting a compound bow, after shooting a recurve for 20 years. I have my sight pins set at 15, 25, and 35 yards. I cannot honestly see shooting over 35 yards in the timber where I hunt, with 25 yards about the average shot.
Do these sight pin distances sound like a good choice? What do you people consider your average shot distance?

·
Registered
58 Posts
Depending on the age and speed of your bow, the 15 yard pin may not be necessary. Typically, I go with 20, 30, and 40(sometimes I go with 25, 35, and 45). Essentially you will hit the same mark from 15-20 yards (give or take an inch). Some bows now even shoot the same up to 30 yards. It's your call, but that is my 2 cents. Chris

·
Archery Coach
23,291 Posts
I usually hunt with a single pin set at 25 yards. I don't like all the clutter and that is how I shoot 3D anyway

·
Registered
293 Posts
Pins

I shoot a 20 yard and 30 yard pin. Don't want any more they just confuse me and hell I'm confused enough.......the 20 yard will shot from one to 20 yards ok.........if they are over 30 yards I need to more my climbing stand.........:D

·
Registered
831 Posts
Your site pin placement sounds good.
What is more important is how does your bow shoot. If the deer is 30 yards do you use your 35 yard and aim low or 25 and aim high.
Put a target 3 feet away from your stand you will be suprised which pin you will need to shoot to hit the target.

I have my pins 20,30,40,50 I like to practice 40 and 50 it makes the 20 yard shots seem real close.

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
My average shot of all my deer is 13.5 yards. I've taken one at 24yds, that's my farthest. 90% of the places I hunt I can't possibly shoot 25 yds.

·
Bonehunter
8,843 Posts
I use 20-30-40-50 yard pins. The 50 is just for practice.
My average shot over 20 years --- 18 yards.

·
Registered
1,224 Posts