Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need you opinions.

Getting back into archery after about 10 years. One shop in my area the owner recommended one of the low end PSE models. His argument was since I am new to the new technology I really don't know what I want, use this bow for a year. Next year sell it and spend the bucks on what I really want at that point in time.

I appreciated him not trying to sell me something I might not need but ...

I have some distant relatives who recommend that I should go with the "better" items on the market ... Matthews, Hoyt, Bowtech ... as the quality and performance is worth it. If I don't like what I get, sell it next year as well.

Have the money to go "high end". But still don't like to throw it around if not needed.

Apreciate your opinions.

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
my .02 cents

I'll give you the standard answer. You're going to have to go shoot a bunch of diiferent bows and find out what fits you best (grip probably being the most important). I for one will disagree with your shop owner. High end bows can be very forgiving. Try and keep the ATA above 35" and brace height above 7" and you'll be okay. Not saying that shorter ATA bows aren't good shooters they are just a little harder to shoot well and can discourage someone new or just getting back into the sport. I'd also stay away from draw length specific bows unless you have that dialed in from your last experience. I recently had a friend get back into compounds after a 3 year hiatus because of shoulder problems and he ended having to buy a new cam because he needed a 1" longer draw length. Finally don't cheap the options; ie rest, sight and quiver. Good luck and welcome back to archery.

·
32,707 Posts