Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
839 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm looking at releases and was wondering if i should go with a back tension. I'm new to hunting and would like some input. As of right now, i wont have a bow for another two months, but i think i'm going with the AM 32.

·
Registered
171 Posts
I am sure somebody will disagree but most will tell you a BT is a bad idea for hunting. Timing of the shot is too critical. Plus form problems caused by tree stands, angles, shooting around a tree limb or whatever could easily cause one (an arrow) to get away before you are ready.

·
Registered
839 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well, thats enough to know i probably shouldnt shoot BT then, thanks

·
Registered
11,632 Posts
I am sure somebody will disagree but most will tell you a BT is a bad idea for hunting. Timing of the shot is too critical. Plus form problems caused by tree stands, angles, shooting around a tree limb or whatever could easily cause one (an arrow) to get away before you are ready.
+1
I agree.
There are several who do shoot a hinge for hunting though.

Lien2

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
taken deer ...

... with back tension hinge release. I switched back to a trigger style. I like more control of the shot when hunting. You can still use 'back tension' with a trigger. I find that it helps.

·
Registered
14,403 Posts
You have to weigh the advantages and disadvantages. I have hunted with most styles of releases and feel that a hook release is best for me. It has no moving parts, fires off rotation just like a hinge jaw. Its gives me confidence like no other piece of archery equipment.

To date I've shot all of my best critters with the hook release. I've been able to make much better shots with it than I was able to with a trigger.