Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are a group of newer shooters, and have heard alot about backtension. Is this really necessary, and if so what is the easiest way to do it? I am a newbie at this and could use all the help I can get.

·
Registered
9,477 Posts
I think it depends if you are going to be a target shooter or not. For me hunting is my priority even though I do 3d and spots a little. I wouldn't hunt with it so I figure why bother. If I have any trouble with my index finger release I will go to my hunting thumb trigger for a while and use it with a backtension form but I also will practice it deliberately making it go off in case you have to make a quick shot. Not easy to do with a backtension..just my opinion

·
Registered
4,058 Posts
Most of the best European shooters do not use back tension. Most of the best USA shooters do use back tension.

Both groups have people that can win any shoot on any given day.

Is it necessary? No! Does it work very well? Yes! :thumbs_up

·
Registered
67 Posts
I suffer from a form of target panic (i.e. I want to grab my bow when I release) and using back tension (which I've just started) solves that problem completely, since my stupid hand doesn't know when the release is going to go off. As long as my bow hand is relaxed and pointed straight at the target, there's no torque or pressure. I would recommend Core Archery by Larry Wise as a good way of learning back tension.

Richard

·
Registered
4,927 Posts
jras If you and your buddies are new to archery it's important to just have fun at the start and do alot of shooting.Just be care free for the moment.
Back tension release is not important at this point.
If you stick with the sport it may become something you would like to learn or not.You will know when the time is right.

·
Registered
735 Posts
Peng said:
I would recommend Core Archery by Larry Wise as a good way of learning back tension.