Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to tune up my allegence after switching to small diameter arrows and wa going the easton tuning guide. (I have never done this before) and my bare shafts are hitting above my fletched shafts. the guide says to move the nocking point but I have dailed the rest in either yet. can I just adjust the rest down a hair? What about paper tuning after that too, if I have already adjusted the rest for the bare shafts will I want to move it for paper tuning or is that the logic in moving th nocking point first. Thanks for the help. BG

·
Registered
167 Posts
I'm no expert, but I always paper tune first. It gets you much closer to where you need to be before bare shaft tuning. This is the time to "dial in" the rest as close as possible.
Bare shafts hitting above fletched shafts seems normal, given that they have less drag on them. What's important is how they are striking the target, ie: nock high/low or nock left/right. The point of impact will be different than with fletched arrows. You can always do the "walk up" test too.
I'm fairly sure I'm correct about this, but if not, maybe one of the tuning guru's can chime in here.

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
BGGooseKiller said:
I am trying to tune up my allegence after switching to small diameter arrows and wa going the easton tuning guide. (I have never done this before) and my bare shafts are hitting above my fletched shafts. the guide says to move the nocking point but I have dailed the rest in either yet. can I just adjust the rest down a hair? What about paper tuning after that too, if I have already adjusted the rest for the bare shafts will I want to move it for paper tuning or is that the logic in moving th nocking point first. Thanks for the help. BG