Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to archery I have a SF Forged+ riser with tradtech 35lb. Limbs. I use an anchor point like most Olympic Recurve archers do under the chin. I've been looking at barebow archers and all seem to use a high anchor point. Does any other barebow archers use the under the chin anchor point?

Thanks,

Milford

·
Registered
163 Posts
There are a few barebow Archers at Tampa Archery that use an Olympic style anchor, mostly those that also shoot Olympic recurve, but most use a higher anchor. The advantage of a higher anchor is the arrow tip is closer to being on point with the target making it easier to aim.

Sent from my LG-D852 using Tapatalk

·
Civil but Disobedient
7,248 Posts
The under chin anchor gives you a very high arrow trajectory which strongly favors very long shots such as those shot by FITA shooters. An under the chin anchor will extend the range of folks using very light bows. It does not impact the FITA archers because they are setting a sight rather than pointing with the arrow. This is the same reason why barebow archers typically use three under hooks. Anything that raises the back end of the arrow makes the shorter shots easier. If your focus is 100 yard shots, then under the chin could be an advantage. If you want to shoot 20 and in, it is a real disadvantage.

I started shooting under the chin and still use it if I am shooting an Olympic style bow with a sight. I have been shifting my anchor higher over the years. I used to focus on 90 and 70 meters. Now that I am shooting shorter shots I have to change the way I shoot. I am now using middle finger in the corner of my mouth after using index for many years.

·
Registered
10,858 Posts
Watch some of the World Barebow field championships on Youtube. Everyone uses a fairly similar anchor, I'd recommend you do similar if performance is your goal.

-Grant

·
Registered
2,262 Posts