Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 9 year old daughter finally had a moment of enjoyment shooting a recurve at a state park while camping over the holidays and won a few prizes much to my surprise. When we got home she actually said she wanted to shoot more, again much to my surprise. I've been asking for a couple years now and she never showed an interest. When we got home I dusted off my Little Bear recurve from when I was a kid, put a new string on it and let her give it a try but at twenty pounds it's just a bit much for her. Kept looking at low poundage recurves since I really wanted to start her with instinctive shooting but just couldn't find anything that thrilled me.
I had her handle a couple of youth compounds at the big stores but she complained about the weight of the bows. I was at a loss.
Coming back from a work trip I stopped in a shop to look and found the Bear Cruzer Lite. And it was just that, light. Looked like a well made bow so I did a bit of research and ordered one. What a great little bow. Easily adjustable draw lengths from 18" to 27" and draw weight from something like 4-45 lbs. I was a bit concerned with dropping the draw weight down between 10-15 lbs and how it would affect the performance but it launches arrows really straight and is getting reasonable target penetration. Came with a functional 3 pin site and a decent quiver.
I couldn't be more satisfied with the bow and would definetly recommend it to anyone looking to pick up a kids bow. I would guess a kid could shoot this thing easily up to 14 or 15 years old or older. Plus my daughters excited about shooting which is a blessing. Heck I wish I would have had something like this when I was her age, the possums would not have been safe.

·
Registered
1,027 Posts