Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
bowtech Revolt X, black gold ascent verdict, CBE tek hybrid pro, prime Nexus 6
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am looking at getting into professional/competitive archery, I've been shooting for about 11 years and really seriously started to get in the target world this last year. I am also an archery technician, so I have support from my local shop to get in to it. I'm 19 and don't know exactly where to go. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
51,122 Posts
Keep your day job to pay for it LOL. There's no money in it except for a very, very few at the top of national and international shooters and they need a source of income.
Seriously start at your local levels, clubs, state shoots. The hope maybe you can advance to some national shoots, maybe pick up a sponser. But that takes some winning, dedication, lots and lots of time, practice. You will need to live and breath it. Even then the odds are stacked against you.

·
Registered
812 Posts
Shoot in tournaments. There is a big difference in being a good league shooter and being a great tournament shooter. It's not the equipment, learn how to set-up your equipment for you. Find a form that is naturally repeatable under stress. Find a qualified coach who will point out the flaws in your form and how to fix them.
Get a full time job that allows you time off for tournaments and supports you.

·
Registered
3,677 Posts
I am looking at getting into professional archery, I've been shooting for about 11 years and really seriously started to get in the target world this last year. I'm 19 and don't know exactly where to go. Thanks in advance!
How to turn Pro in Archery:

1) Get a bow - Complete
2) Learn how to shoot it - Complete
3) Go to local leagues/tourneys/money shoots to see how you stack up - <---------<<< You are Here
4) Go to National events and register as a Pro and compete -