Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to archery and I'm looking to buy my first bow and set of arrows. My draw length is around 27". I'm most likely going to get a Samick Sage (good price for a beginner bow) in about 30 or 35 lbs draw weight (seems to be a good weight for a beginner male), hopefully working up to 40 to 45 lbs draw weight at a later date (and perhaps adding heavier points for hunting).

Now I just need to work out which arrows to buy. The two main things I need to decide on are arrow length and spine. Ideally, I'd like to buy a set that I can use on both my 30-35 lb weight and my 40-45 lb weight limbs, but of course I know this may not be possible. Looking at spine charts, the Carbon Express Heritage arrows in 30" (is this fine at my draw length for a beginner?) seem to be suitable in their 150 spine rating (0.495") for recurve bows anywhere between 30 and 45 lbs.

Before I splash out on a set of arrows, I just want to know if I'm right in this. I know that I can cut the shafts down, or add more weight to the points, etc to affect spine. I just wonder if my suggestion of 30", 150 spine arrows is a good place to start for my use?

·
(aka lug nut)
47,415 Posts
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to archery and I'm looking to buy my first bow and set of arrows. My draw length is around 27". I'm most likely going to get a Samick Sage (good price for a beginner bow) in about 30 or 35 lbs draw weight (seems to be a good weight for a beginner male), hopefully working up to 40 to 45 lbs draw weight at a later date (and perhaps adding heavier points for hunting).