Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been trying for a while now to switch to a thumb release and I just can't get comfortable with it. I can shoot much better and am more consistant with my wrist-strap release. Are there that many advantages that a thumb release has over a wrist-strap?

·
Registered
51,169 Posts
I've been shooting thumb releases for close to 30 yrs and like them. I don't care for anything around my wrist. Main advantage for me is I use a rope loop and once on stand I just hook it up on the loop then at the moment of truth I'm not fumbling around getting my release on the bow. Side note I always carry a spare incase I bump it and it ends up on the ground. But the bottom line is use what your comfortable with.:wink:

·
Registered
4,294 Posts
I agree 100%. I use one and have for quite a few years. That being said I also used a Scott Little Goose for years too. If you don't like it and prefer an index release use that. I would however go to your pro shop and get a bit of instruction on how to properly shoot with the T Handle though.(you may have already) You may be doing something wrong that your not aware of that may help you out in your decsion. Good luck. What are you shooting if I may ask?

Scott

·
Registered
2,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I agree 100%. I use one and have for quite a few years. That being said I also used a Scott Little Goose for years too. If you don't like it and prefer an index release use that. I would however go to your pro shop and get a bit of instruction on how to properly shoot with the T Handle though.(you may have already) You may be doing something wrong that your not aware of that may help you out in your decsion. Good luck. What are you shooting if I may ask?

Scott

I've actually tried it on a few different bows: Drenalin, DXT, and Prestige

·
Registered
51,169 Posts
I've actually tried it on a few different bows: Drenalin, DXT, and Prestige