Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
19,452 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now that the hunting seasons are kicking in, we have (and had) many threads asking about the best flying bh, etc. I just replied to a thread where the Slick Trick was the best flying out of his bow. Well......I am not an expert but I shoot many various BH's from my bows and I can get them to fly all the same and get them to impact the same as field tips (without magic). Just last week I took 6 different bh's, same weight, all straight in good condition (not new) and screwed them on matching shafts, spun them, and all hit in the same exact hole (1st one blew thru and made a hole) on my 3-D backyard buck at 25 yards, as 1 example. I have done this many times with various bh/arrow combinations!
I dont believe this happens by accident. I pay alot of attention to detail! I spend alot of time with my bows working with them to get them tuned to be able to put any quality bh on of the same weight, shoot it and have it fly like the proverbial ft's and impact with the others. It makes me wonder why some guys can only shoot 1 bh out of their bow. Is it that they dont have access to more bh's to test? Do they not have the effort,time and equipment to put into tuning their bows? I realize many people are in the process of learning and alot is new to them. But if you can get 1 type of bh to fly "wonderful" why not others? I, like many others here, work to achieve perfection with my equipment.
I made this thread to not flame anyone on this issue but to hopefully, open up GOOD dialogue without punching each other out and getting more insight to this issue as I feel most bowhunters can get their bows "more and better" tuned.
Again I hope this leads to an educational thread and not a bashing thread! I encourage all to participate, new folks as well as veterans. :wink:

·
Registered
2,033 Posts