Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I read that keeping both eyes open while shooting is best. I have a 20yd range in my yard and tried it a bit ago. It's different that's for sure. My husband taught me to close one eye. I think I can get used to both eyes though. Will I need to resight my bow? I shot some dead on and some scattered. I don't know if that's due to not being used to it yet?

·
Registered
7,588 Posts
both eyes

I think I shoot with both eyes open most of the time. I know when I started shooting I shot with one eye closed all the time. I guess it is just whatever you get used to and are more comfortable with. I still shoot a rifle with a scope with one eye closed. Maybe if I shoot more I will end up opening the eye.

Just do whatever feels right to you. It will all come naturally after a while.

·
Registered
1,078 Posts
If you're using a peep, it's gonna 'shut' when you release. If your opposite eye is closed, you're gonna miss most of the flight.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've been trying it out for 40 arrows or so and I think I'm getting the hang of it. I have to first have my left eye closed (I'm right handed) to get a feel for the peep allignment, then I open it and take the shot. Both eyes does give me the view of flight. I'm going to keep at it and hopefully change it to my primary way of shooting.

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
I started with my left eye closed because I am left eye dominant and shoot right handed. However, I noticed that with one eye closed I was getting tension. To make the transition I just keep shooting with both eyes open until I got the hang of it...........now I can shoot either way and my sights are the same :)

·
Registered
1,539 Posts