Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Admittedly, I am a newbie when it comes to strings and cables!

I had a Hoyt Cybertec stashed in an archery case for several years. I recently opened the case to find that the control cable had parted. I ordered new strings and cables and proceeded to install them, but am unable to achieve the alignment of the dual track idler the manual requires. The new string and buss cable were marginally shorter than the old ones, but I ascribe that to stretch of these old cables.

Since the control cable had let go, the string had disengaged itself. Now I wonder if I have the cables and string properly installed, and if so, why I can't get the idler indicators in the right position. I could really use some expert help in diagnosing the problem!

I'm second-guessing myself now. Since the string and cables were in disarray when I took the bow from the case, I am beginning to wonder if I have the buss and control cables reversed on the cam. I have not been able to find a good photo or diagram anywhere on the web.

Can any of you experienced folks help? I'd especially appreciate guidance regarding the arrangement of buss and control cable attachment on the cam.

As you may be able to see on the idler photos, the idler indicator is bracketing the limb rather than the buss yoke as the manual stipulates. So the idler needs nearly 30 degrees of further rotation, and so does the cam.

Wood Bumper Bicycle part Automotive exterior Hardwood
Wood Bicycle part Automotive exterior Auto part Metal
Guitar accessory Wood Guitar Table String instrument accessory
Musical instrument Bicycle tire Amber Automotive lighting Bicycle part
Musical instrument String instrument Door Automotive tire Violin family
Door Wood Material property Rim Bicycle part
Musical instrument Amber Wind instrument Gold Bicycle part

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·