Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all,

I've been doing quite a bit of reading and looking up what everyone recommends but it seems a lot of the recommendations are high-end merchandise.

My history: I've been shooting a bow since I was a youngin' started with one of those yellow walmart ones with like 2lbs of draw weight :p

I graduated later on to something a little quicker then after that my next bow was a Darton Compound bow in 45lb draw.

I later started shooting my dad's PSE Thunder Lite(? I think that's the name ?) and it has a 60-65 lb draw (I forget) and a max draw of 70lbs. The bow is quite old and has never been restrung but still shoots great.

I just recently shot a recurve bow, an old hardwood recurve that's pushing 30+ years old... beautiful bow but string notches are worn so the string comes off (ouch!).

I love the traditional style of the recurve bow and was wondering what recommendations that people have for someone who has never really owned a recurve bow before.

I've looked into Hoyt bows I particularly like the gamemaster... slick looking but I also like the Matrix but it's hard to find 'viable' prices on the internet because websites have so much fluff these days.

And I have not necessarily disbanded the thought of owning another compound, but bows are personal and my dad's PSE is not going to always cut it for me since it was built for him and not myself, and being a young person in the computer technologies field I like new technology and am willing to try things.

My budget: $500-$600

My question: What do you suggest for a recurve bow? And what do you suggest for a compound bow? The less expensive the better, I enjoyed the fact about the recurve that in the long run maintenance should be less (minus any foreseeable disasters).