Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being the curious learner that I am, I am trying to understand the different bow tuning parameters. I've done some searching, but can't really find what I'm looking for.

Just about all of the tuning "guides," books, and threads state "Set the Brace Height to the manufacturers specification."

Why do they specify a specific range?

What exactly does that mean?

Does it make a difference with short/medium/long limbs?

Does it make a difference with a 21"/23"/25"/27" riser?

What effect to tuning/arrow behavior does a higher brace height have relative to a shorter brace height?

Thanks in advance.

Dave

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Normally, a lower/shorter brace height gives more speed, and a higher/longer brace height gives a more stable/softer shot feel.
Being an engineer, I'm still interested in why? I can understand the speed issue - longer on the spring/string - kind of like a longer rifle barrel. However, I don't get the stable/softer comment.

What will the dynamic consequences be? If all I want to be is faster, why would I stay close to the mfg specs? I could drop BH to a point where I am just barely tensioned when the bow is at it's dynamic limit (and won't lose the string off the limbs).

I'm actually not really interested in speed, execpt academically. I'm really interested in the cleanest (I guess you could say most stable) arrow flight indoors.

Dave

·
USAA Regional-L4 Coach
4,319 Posts
Being the curious learner that I am, I am trying to understand the different bow tuning parameters. I've done some searching, but can't really find what I'm looking for.

Just about all of the tuning "guides," books, and threads state "Set the Brace Height to the manufacturers specification."

Why do they specify a specific range?The MFG knows that a specific range works well however they can't know all the rest of the parameters in the tune process