Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found this cool 2017 review of a bunch of broadheads:
https://www.bowhunting.com/blog/201...ign=bowhunting-coms-2017-broadhead-evaluation

The Wac-Em Fixed Blade BH (4 blades) seemed to have great penetration (although they dont show it on the video????????), but its cutting diameter is below average vs the rest of the BHs in the test.

Would it make sense to determine what blade will be optimal using a ratio of penetration to cutting diameter? Or is penetration king no matter what (i.e. punching two holes is better than one vs one hole thats wider).

Thanks.

·
Registered
187 Posts
I have little first hand experience with multiple broadheads but from doing my fair share of reading and using common sense it is completely dependant upon the KE your arrow is carrying. Big cutting diameter will clearly work better with high poundage setups while small diameter works better with lighter setups. Just be honest about your setup and do your research, I've recently great success with larger diameter mechanicals but I'm carrying 92 ft/lbs with my current setup.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Edit: Assuming your arrow is flying true with proper FOC, KE is the biggest factor to take into consideration ***

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Im probably going to go with a Cabelas Fortitude or Blackout S3. KE I think is around ~62 (330fps, 450 grain arrow, 27.5" DL, 60lbs)

Here are the penetration results:

Fire-N-The-Hole, 6-1/2″
Truglo Titanium X Mechanical, 7-3/4″
NAP Spitfire DoubleCross, 8-3/16″
Wac’Em Steel Expandable, 8-7/16″
Simmons Mako 100, 8-9/16″
Grim Reaper Hybrid, 8-11/16″
Flying Arrow Toxic, 8-3/4″
Rocky Mountain Warhead, 8-13/16″
Muzzy Trocar HBX, 8-7/8″
Wasp Jak-Knife, 9-3/16″
Dead Ringer Super Freak, 9-3/8″
Rage Trypan, 9-3/8″
Shwacker, 9-7/16″
Truglo Titanium Fixed-Blade, 9-1/2″
Magnus Stinger Buzzcut, 9-7/8″
Trophy Taker A-Tac, 10-1/8″