Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
846 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a hickory creek mini that I just plain old can not get the broad heads to fly with field points and am looking for ideas.

I’ve paper tuned to bullet holes

I’ve shot bare shafts through paper and at 15yds until those were sticking straight and hitting same POI.

However No matter what I do the broad heads hit about 8” right at 40yds. I’ve moved the rest to the left (towards field points) a long ways. Prob almost 1/4 inch and they’ve notated roughly 8” to the right. Several diff heads and multiple arrows.

The bow is the hickory creek mini inline vertical crossbow.

Any ideas? Everything is tight and it’ll group FP very well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
9,485 Posts
1. What broadheads?
2. I have zero experience with that bow, but I have to think it would tune more like a vertical compound bow than a crossbow. You seem to have done all the logical steps. If you are bare shaft tuned, not sure what else is left to do. Do the broadheads group well, even though they are off from field points? Could just sight in with them. Can you switch to a low profile mechanical? Could be a spine issue with the arrows, or need more aggressive fletching. I had a compound (Golden Eagle Natural grip) with a grip offset to the left of center like the Mini’s grip is. Couldn’t get it to shoot torque free. Maybe contact Jerry Goff, the owner of Draw Loc.

·
Registered
846 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I’ve tried magnus and quads mostly.

Yes I have mechanicals on order specifically because I can’t get this thing to tune.

·
Registered
9,485 Posts
I’ve tried magnus and quads mostly.

Yes I have mechanicals on order specifically because I can’t get this thing to tune.

I wish you the best of luck with it. They seem like a nice, handy hunting tool.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Try changing the eye relief on the scope, as per the comment in the bow specific section.

·