Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Deer season is coming soon here in SC and i need to buy some broadheads for my son, what do you suggest for a fixed blade broadhead?
By the way he is shooting a 52# bow with a 26 inch draw.

·
Registered
292 Posts
i dont know exactly were you are in SC,but i went to wal-mart and picked up some 3 pack coc 100gn realtree broadheads for $7.00 on clearance.

·
Lefty Shooter
1,439 Posts
Try the 75 gr Muzzy's or 75 gr Thunderheads. We sell alot of those two for Kids and Ladies.

·
Registered
398 Posts
I don't think you could go wrong with the Magnus Buzzcuts. Cut on contact tonto tip and life time replacement guarentee. I have Slick Trick mags 100's, Magnus Buzzcut 100's four blade and Grim Reaper 1 3/8 100's. For what it's worth, the Buzzcuts penetrate my Rinehart target the best. I'm no expert but I think it takes a bit more energy for penetration with the 4 blade Slick Trick mags, the standards my be different but I don't have any experience with them. They all fly great out of my bow, but I've spend a lot of time tuning and it even shoots Muzzy 3 blade 100's the same as the others.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks everyone, i was thinking about the Magnus buzz cuts or the slick tricks because they come in 85g but i have also heard a lot of good about the thunderheads, and muzzys too so im still trying to decide what i should get for him.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Try the shuttle t locks, they are very accurate

·
Registered
2,350 Posts
The little Thunderhead is excellent.

·
Registered
2,015 Posts
Any sharp fixed blade from a reputable company will work great.

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
Slick Trick 100's get the magnums they are a 4 blade 1 1/8" cutting head. They make "slug holes" when they go through due to the 4th blade. Nasty. Awesome. Deadly. Now I sound like a commercial ;)

·
Registered
37,024 Posts