Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!
I am new in this and I really want it to be my new hobby(archery).
So 3-4 years ago I bought a compound bow(chinese man kung), then I decided to talk with an archer in order to help me with adjusting the bow and give me tips.
When I met with the guy however, he told me that this is a womens' bow, really poor quality and the cables that were holding the 'shoulders' of the bow are dangerous, becuase they are made of some kind of metal. They can cut my hand if I dry fire and the bow blows in my hands. Those were his words. Obviously I know that bow must NOT be dry fired, but this made me really cautious about this bow and since then I got afraid from the bows and never even touched it again(did not even tried it).
So I want to ask you all the experienced people here: What are the dangers of firing a bow? Can I lose a limb or something like that or the guy was just making a bad joke?
Also I am thinking lately of buying something 'safer' for example a recurve bow. And I saw this bow: Buck Trail Cougar . Is this bow better than a 'chinese one'? Also is it safer? And because I am tall guy, but skinny(not very muscular) should I get 25 lbs for weight or less?
Thank you all and take care! :)

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
I’ve never heard of anything you mentioned. However I’d go to your nearest pro shop to get some advice, and see what they have to offer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
5,104 Posts
Welcome to AT from Columbus, Ga.

I have no experience with a Buck Trail Cougar,, but it appears to be a recurve and not a compound bow. I have experience with two other recurves, the Samick Sage and Southwest Spyder. They are great bows (the Spyder to me is a tad batter in hand) and both can be bought from Amazon (both have good reviews). I took a moment to Goggle a Buck Trail Cougar - both cost less than a Buck Trail Cougar.

·
Registered
303 Posts