Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi im new to the arrow building scene as i have always got a pro shop to do it but i have found labor costs a pain in the a** and i want to build my own arrows from bare shafts. Can someone tell me the entire process from cutting the shaft to fletching, installing nocks and putting in points.
Thanks in advance
-Matt

·
Registered
5,027 Posts
The basics:

1) Cut the shafts to length, I like to do this first so that the fletching doesn't interfere with placing the arrow in the saw.
2) Wipe the portion of the shaft that will accept the fletching down vigorously with denatured alcohol. This removes and filth and residue that may adversely affect the glues adhesion. Avoid touching the shaft after you have wiped it down since your hands contain oils that will also cause loss of adhesion.
3) If you are going to use a wrap now is the time to apply that. Wraps add aesthetic value and also make it easier to remove all the glue and fletchings when it comes time to re-fletch. However they are hardly necessary you can apply the vanes directly to the shaft.
3) If you used wraps then redo step 2 for the same reasons.
4) When you place the vane in the fletching Jig clean the area that you will apply the glue to with a clean cloth and denatured alcohol. This is the step most often overlooked but it is critical!!! The vanes have a release agent on them so they can be removed from the mold and this release agent prohibits vanes from sticking. Also you need to make sure you put the vane in the exact same position in the clamp every time. I place a little mark on the clamp to expedite that process. (I use the bitzenburger as a fletching jig)