Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What seems to have a better reliabilty track record, a cable or limb driven rest? Those of you that have had both, whats on your bow now? I know alot is personal preference, but what made you decide ro go that route?

·
Registered
4,501 Posts
I've tried both. Cable has never moved at all, ever. Limb had given me more problems. when i tied it on to the limb it moved. Some rests give you a little plastic piece that sticks to the limb which is supposed to hold the rope in place. Works fine until you bump it or it gets wet. Since it's such a long distance from the rest to the limb the rope also got snagged on branches and such. None of those issues has happened since i went back to cable driven. Just my two cents.

·
Registered
1,590 Posts
I've been running Hamskea Versa Rest on my bows for a few years now. Never had a issue with my hunting or target setups. Limb driven all the way for me.

·
Registered
112 Posts
What seems to have a better reliabilty track record, a cable or limb driven rest? Those of you that have had both, whats on your bow now? I know alot is personal preference, but what made you decide ro go that route?

Here's the deal with limb driven technology and how it ties in with the standard mechanical rest:

The time frame from which you first release the string and it begins to accelerate, to the time your arrow detached itself from the string and initiates flight, is known as the "shot cycle".

What a drop away rest is designed to do is provide a resting point, known as the "launch platform", to support the shaft until it rea he's a velocity which it can sustain its own flight, a term known as the point of "self sustainability".