Archery Talk Forum banner

Call Shy Turkeys Help

2K views 11 replies 11 participants last post by  slowhandstl 
#1 ·
I know there is probally a thread around here on this topic, but I was unable to locate one. I am no expert turkey hunter, or caller. I know the basics. Opening day was awsome. Sencond day not so good, now the birds will not respond to anything. As Im walking in I can hear the birds gobbling everywhere. I get set up and when the birds hit the ground that's it. I have tried everything. I even just set there scracthing the leaves every once in a while without calling. Or if I hear a gobbler I just put a soft cluck out there and they shut up. There is a few others that hunt the land on weekends. There is alot of turkeys there. Just so frustrated at the birds right now. And to add to this, the other day I drove by just at day break, where I park my truck when I go hunting and there was a hen standing there. It was like an insult. I am trying to get a friend to go with me to a place where he has permission to hunt. But trying to get him to go is kinda hard. Any Help ? Thanks !

#3 ·
There are two strategies. First, find out where the turkeys naturally go after they fly down and be there. Turkeys tend to use the same travel patterns and if you can know where they are going you can be in their path and kill one of them. Second, hunt mid morning after the hens have gone to their nest. Those toms will be searching for some lovin.

#4 ·
I have been heading in before 10 or shortly after. I know the birds fly down walk through a small wooded area and then cross a small open area. Just the areas are so wide it is hard to find where they cross. Here in Mo. we can only hunt until 1 pm. I dont know why I think evening hunting would be better. But yea I will try and stay longer or get out later . Thanks

#6 ·