Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just found out that my bow was given to me from the bow shop three years ago with a draw lenth of 29 1/2". I have been shooting it like this for three years. I have killed one doe with it and shot another, but couldn't find her last year. Last night I went to get a kisser button on my bow to help with my anchor point. The guy helping me tells me the draw length is too long. I get measured and my draw length is 27 1/2". The mistake was made when I bought the bow. They are ordering me new cams and replacing them at no cost. The question is this....Can anyone give me an opinion on what will the affects be on my shooting with a shorter draw length? will this help me out or tighten up my groups???

·
Registered
35 Posts
Im really new...but the bow I am purchasing had its draw length changed last night when i was shooting it, made it shorter.

I felt like I had more control of the shot, less effort to pull back and hold it for the shot I wanted to take. I don't shoot great groups yet, but it definetly was shooting closer together after as opposed to before, but my experience is very limited

·
Registered
16,024 Posts
I read once that a lot of people are shooting bows that are too long for them and once they shorten up the draw length they become better shooters. I checked mine out and I was only an inch too long but my shooting has improved a 100%.

·
2A whiner
40,383 Posts
It should

If it fits better then yes it should help you tight up your groups. If you have made physical adjustments in order to shoot the way it is now you may not notice it @ first but it will help. You will probably notice long range accuracy improve a lot. & you should stay much more consistent during a long practice session or when you are simply tired.
Of interest is that coaches will generally tell you it is better to shoot to short of a DL than to long.