Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,601 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've shot 3d for 20 years and indoor for about 15 and consider myself to know alot about typical set up. But this new long distance 70 80 90 meter stuff is altogether different. I'm shooting a 54lb 28 3/8 draw Vantage elite c2's with 540 navigators with 100 grain points. I'm using a .10 "BEST" blade. Yesterday @ 70 meters I was consistently shooting 8 to 9 out of 10 arrows right in there solid. X's and ten's. I go out there today and RRRRRRRRRRR OMG my group was about 8" wide with good height. Should I be using a .08 blade? should I shave the sides down to get rid of any possibility of contact? This is my first time with navigators and I need some help.

Thanks,
Bk

·
ArcheryLessonsOnline.com
2,013 Posts
A wide group like that is often a sign of a weak arrow shaft if everything else is correct..

-Adam

·
Registered
1,601 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ttt:(

·
The Foam Collector
2,335 Posts
Sounds like before you shoot, you may need to check that nut behind the risor.

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
Just threw some quick things into Archers Advantage and it shows WAY weak on arrow spine. What is the measurement of the shaft only...no points or nocks?

Also, my AA program only sez Cam & 1/2 Plus or Spirals....and you have C2's?

·
Registered
1,601 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The shaft length cut to cut is 27". I have tried everything.rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr:(

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
The shaft length cut to cut is 27". I have tried everything.rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr:(

I used data for 27" shaft length, 100gr point and pin nock setup w/ 3 - 2" fletch on a 3" wrap. You'd have to take poundage down to 49 to get it centered in spine chart. Also, FOC is under 10%. Uupping to a 480 shaft at 28" of shaft length would be optimum for 54# on your bow. But that is using Cam & 1/2plus in the setup.