Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, so another newbie question here. I just recently started learning trad archery, and have been shooting a 35# Samick recurve for a few weeks now. I've watched more youtube videos than I can count, and one thing I notice is some of the instructors in the videos swear by having a perfectly vertical bow, ensuring your limbs are perfectly straight up and down, top to bottom. Then other videos, the instructors "cant" or tilt their bows, saying its more comfortable, and shooting comfortably helps ensure good form. One of the most frustrating things I've found since my recent desire to learn archery is that there is 100 different ways and methods of doing things, and every single one is sworn by one person or another. So, being as I am just starting out, and still developing form, is canting my bow a good idea or should I continue to shoot the bow vertically. Thanks in advance to anyone who can offer some advice or experiences.

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
I'm pretty new myself, but here's my take on that. Most of the people I have seen shoot with their bow canted are people shooting bows that don't have much of a shelf or rest on them, and they do that partly to make sure the arrow is stable on the rest or shelf. With your Samick, you shouldn't have that problem. I'm shooting a Sage, so I've got a similar riser to yours. I've thought about canting my bow, but I've decided against it, with the exception of times when I might be shooting from my knees or maybe there is an overhead obstruction like a branch or inside a blind. The other reason I don't make canting part of my routine is that I feel it is more difficult to duplicate your form when you are canting. Are you at 20deg, 30deg? How can you tell from one shot to the next if you're lining up the same way? To me, it's easier to be more consistent when shooting with my bow in a vertical position. Your milage may vary.

·