Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone has used these for hunting? I bought a dozen from cabelas and used them successfully shooting 3-D but Not sure about hunting. This is my first year bow hunting and I see that a lot of guys use carbon arrows to bow hunt with. I was a little worried cause I was under the impression that you needed to use an alluminum arrow. Heavier= more kinetic energy???? Here's my set up and tell me what you think. I'm shooting a 2002 Martin Cougar with Z-cams 28" draw, 60#. 29.5" 6000 carbon impacts, with 125gr. magnus snuffers. I'm only hunting whitetails. I know shot placement is the key but I also want to be sure I've got what it takes to do the job!!! Any imput would be appreciated. Good, Bad or??????

mustang

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
Just a quick look at your setup but, you should have plenty of power there for whitetails. The key to bowhunting is not to have a setup that generates an insane quantity of KE, as you pointed out, it is to ensure you hit the animal well. There are guys out there hunting with stick bows and recurves that generate well under the KE of any modern compound and they kill whitetail every year.

A couple of points to clarify. KE from a bow is a factor of both draw length and draw weight. To put it in mathematical terms, KE is equal to the integrated area under the draw force curve. The only way to really effect it are to add draw length or draw weight.

Your arrow weight will not effect KE to any significant degree.
By going to a lighter carbon arrow you will pick up speed and cause your trajectory to be flatter (which will be more forgiving for yardage estimation mistakes) but your KE will essentially be the same as for the heavier aluminum arrow.

Just keep practicing and gain confidence in your equipment. You have plenty there to do the job! Good luck this year!

·
Registered
1,224 Posts