Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to recurve archery, and I had a question about sights. I use a Helix riser with Hoyt ZR330 limbs (about #32 lbs at 30" draw). Lancaster Archery has a Cartel Midas Carbon for $129 (on special from $239). Alternative Sporting services lists a Sebastian Flute for $118.
In some other threads, users mentioned that Cartel sights "rattle and roll".Does anyone have any suggestions between the two?
Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
Skip both and buy anything with Shibuya or Sure-Loc in the name. You save loads of money in the long run.

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
I know one girl using a Cartel Midas (I'm not sure hers is carbon) on her compound and seems to be doing well with it. At a quick inspection, it seemed well-made and designed. (I think they intend their Midas series to be a step up in quality.) The cheaper Cartel Medalist does have a reputation for rattling and is also a little inconvenient because it has two tightening screws to loosen before you change elevation.

I know a guy using the SF (which I believe is made by Arc Systeme of France) and he seems to like it, and another who had the Arc Systeme seemed satisfied.

That said, many archers feel that a sight is a one-time purchase and invest in a good one and keep it for years, moving it from bow to bow. Shibuyas (both earlier Dual Click and newer Ultima series) are very nicely designed and made. Also, they are readily saleable later.

·
sometimes reality hurts
3,480 Posts
the Midas series is certainly better than the rest of the Cartel stuff, but I agree the OP would be well advised to buy a sight once and own it forever - you won't go wrong with Shibuya or SureLoc.

·
Genesis 21:20
21,813 Posts