Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5,222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to Release aids, but have been shooting a B.T."Hinge" release for a couple weeks, a Scott Longhorn, I think...I was looking at the Carter website, and I see some of the releases are available as a "Hinge", and also as a "Spike"...These releases are the Atension, and the Colby...What is the difference between the Spike, and the Hinge, and what are the Pro's, and Con's of these "Spike" type B.T. release aids...Thanks in advance...Harperman

·
(aka lug nut)
49,670 Posts
I'm pretty new to Release aids, but have been shooting a B.T."Hinge" release for a couple weeks, a Scott Longhorn, I think...I was looking at the Carter website, and I see some of the releases are available as a "Hinge", and also as a "Spike"...These releases are the Atension, and the Colby...What is the difference between the Spike, and the Hinge, and what are the Pro's, and Con's of these "Spike" type B.T. release aids...Thanks in advance...Harperman
HINGE has moving parts.

SPIKE has no moving parts, so imagine a hook.
You can adjust the angle of the hook, and then lock it down.

On the HINGE release,
when the release fires...
the "hook" falls off the edge of a half moon piece of metal,
and the hook freely rotates and the hook
slips off the d-loop.

On a SPIKE release,
the entire handle has to rotate around your finger.

On the HINGE release,
the hook rotates off the d-loop.

·
Registered
5,222 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
HINGE has moving parts.

SPIKE has no moving parts, so imagine a hook.
You can adjust the angle of the hook, and then lock it down.

On the HINGE release,
when the release fires...
the "hook" falls off the edge of a half moon piece of metal,
and the hook freely rotates and the hook
slips off the d-loop.

On a SPIKE release,
the entire handle has to rotate around your finger.

On the HINGE release,
the hook rotates off the d-loop.