Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

Im in the process of choosing my first bow. Right now, i have a crappy PSE from the 90s. After doing tons of research, im even more confused than i was before. My question is: Should i buy a cheaper RTH hunt package such as the PSE Stinger X, Bear Cruizer/species, Diamond edge, etc.. OR should i buy a last years model/slightly used model such as a Hoyt Powermax, obssession turmoil, etc. i Found a few for very reasonable prices. I have a quiver, rest, sight, etc.. so, i feel like i could save a few bucks on buying come cheap package accessories that i already have. I probably sound like a total Novice and that is become i am. I just want to learn from some folks who know what theyre talking about. Thanks for reading!!

P.S. Ill be hunting with this. Deer and elk in good ole montana.

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
When I got my first real bow I quickly realized I should have bought a higher end used bow. I’d recommend going with a year or two old bow that looks in good shape. Make sure strings are in tact, cams and limbs have no scratches or dings.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Shootin and Cussin
22,926 Posts
One question for you.... Do you have a local bow shop or are you going to rely on your own knowledge to set the bow up and get it shooting?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
There are a couple bow shops i can use. Big box type guys: cabelas, sportsmans, etc. There are couple local guys i think too. I will most likely take it to one of them.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I would spend a little more on a used bow that may be more versatile for you in the future. I bought a 10 year old bow and couldn't be happier with it. It gives me the opportunity to learn the maintenance it needs, but it's nothing that I can't find parts for or would be scared to tackle on my own.

·
Registered
808 Posts