Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what do you all use for holding your bows in climbing stands.

I have an API and a Pearson spoiler. This is my first year hunting from non homemade stands.

-Dave

·
Registered
4,259 Posts
I use an average screw in bow holder that you can pic up at walmart for about $2 or $3. Never failed me yet,,, just screw it into the tree at whatever height you want it to be. Only problem for me, i forgot it a couple of times but after setting my climber back up a few times i have learned to take it out of the tree before i climb down :wink:

·
Registered
9,795 Posts
Realtree Hanger...

Get one of the swiveling Realtree bow hangers. It screws into the tree and has one or two (depending on the model) hinges that allow it to be positioned where you want it. I had the stand mounted holder last year and it cost me a coyote and almost cost me my buck. Getting it off the stand holders is tricky w/o being noticed b/c it's a long ways fromt he bottom of you stand to your shoulder.

The bow hanger can be set up so that' its right in front of you so there is minimal movement when reaching for the bow.

BTW, they are also inexpensive.

You can get them at Bass Pro.... click below.

http://www.basspro.com/servlet/catalog.TextId?hvarTextId=33666&hvarTarget=search&cmCat=SearchResults

-ZA206

·
Registered
321 Posts
No holder

I usually hunt where deer can sneak in from multiple directions and be 30 yards or less when you can see them. I've missed oppertunities because the bow was opposite the deer or the deer was too close to reach for the bow without being spotted. You got to get it off the stand/hook before snapping on the release and get to full draw. I suppose you can see it as additional challenge. :wink: But, I prefer to hold my bow most/all of the time that I'm hunting. Now if I need to use a rangefinder, I'd probably use a hook. I wish I had a good bowholder for inside my ground blind.

·