Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to 3d and i was at my 2nd shoot last weekend and there was a hog set up at about 3 yards i heard people saying to use your 30 or 40 yard pin. Is this right? if so how does it work?

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
pin

These guys wouldn't be tough to compete against! Did you try it??
naw i didnt wanna risk it i just held my 20 real low. but i heard several different people saying it. there mus be some kind of reason behind it.... mabe?

·
Registered
645 Posts
I've read this in a bowhunting magazine talking about shooting turkeys out of a blind from very close range. It has something to do with the arc of the arrow flight. Hard to understand, but I've heard it before.

·
Registered
95 Posts
30 or 40 may not be enough

I have shot that same pig several times. It's more like a 40 or 50 yard pin at 3 yards. Look at your short yardage conversions on your archers advantage program (if you shoot any field archery you probably already have) it will tell you the same thing. It has to do with how the arrow initally comes out of the bow (low to be precise) I don't know how to explain the physics, but they were right. The other guy that posted "they wouldn't be hard to compete against" must not have shot this pig many times.

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
nationlas last year there was a turkey at like 3 yards (my stab was almost touching it) set the sight at 80 yards..pin wheeled it!

·
Registered
7,910 Posts
Its actually all in knowing how your bow preforms. If I have a shot at 4yds and my bow is shooting 280 I set my scope for 44yds which will put me dead on.I have never tried to figure out why but common sense says it all has to do with the path the arrow travels just like a bullet it does not fly flat from point a (bow or gun) to point b (target).It is all in a path of an arc.

·
Banned
2,164 Posts