Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just new to this archery thing. I have a question on if cold weather affects the accuracy of the bow. for example shooting outside 65 degree's shot real good. two days latter 33 degrees was shooting 4 inches high and 2 inches right. both at 30 yrds. so is or can that be the temp. or is it the new shooter.

·
Registered
563 Posts
I would have to say it was the shooter. When it was cold outside, did you have a heavy jacket on and your string caught your sleeve, sending your arrow off target? The colder weather shouldn`t affect your bow.

·
Registered
3,418 Posts
Sounds like TNT might be correct. The temp. difference shoud not be noticeable in the bow's performance. IMHO:teeth:

·
Resident Philosopher
11,625 Posts
Frozen bow syndrome does exist
I have left my target bows in the truck in cold weather and they shoot low and left for about 12 shots.....then back to the center like usual.
I am enough of a believer in this that when the temps get below 30f I resight my hunting bow and leave it in the truck till deer season is over.

·
Registered
3,683 Posts
agreed

i have experienced it too. a VERY noticable drop when shooting in really cold weather. i have mised "easy" shots as a result of this.i don't know about my SBXT, but my MQ32 was definitely affected by the cold.

·
Registered
51,169 Posts
It's not the bow, it's you. Your muscles are tight, more clothes and will cause you to draw, hold and shoot different.:wink:

·
Registered
131 Posts
I asked this very same question when I first began shooting because I was having the same problem. It's you, not the bow. As the months go by, you will begin to get more accurate and stay accurate with constant practice regardless of the temperature.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·