Archery Talk Forum banner

Collapsing/ coming out of posture?

3K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  Txfeatherflinger 
#1 ·
So i've been shooting a bow for about 20 years or so, but never really improved. I was always "good enough" to kill deer at sub 30 yds. Last year I had target panic really bad (stuck low), and started really working on my form. I'm shooting a lot better, but occasionally I'll throw an arrow like 3" low at 20y. Almost feels like im dropping my bow arm in anticipation of looking at where arrow is going.

Anyone have any experience with this? Typically the last arrow in a group.

#2 ·
If it’s usually the last arrow, it’s most likely simple fatigue. Maybe try turning your limb bolts out half a turn and see if the issue goes away? Or, rest longer before shooting the last arrow of the group. As arms fatigue, it is just harder to physically hold the bow up and the tendency is to shoot low.

#4 ·
Tape camera phone to a ladder. Set camera phone lens at arrow height on the ladder. Slide ladder far away enough, that the camera phone can record a video of you, HEAD to TOE, camera phone can see the ground, can see your shoes, can see all of you, and can see all of the bow.

Fire 5 shots on video. Start to finish. The video will show EVERYTHING that you are doing correctly, and everything you are doing DIFFERENT on shot #5. POST to YouTube. Provide a public link.

#5 ·