Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I said before I'm a relative newbie to "traditional" ( I hate to use THAT word, LOL) therefore I've been reading and studying this forum looking for suggestions and answers to my questions. Yes, MOST of my questions have been asked before, MANY times before. An archer who takes the time to use the search feature here will find a wealth of information and a crash course in traditional archery.

I've been shooting my recurve for a few weeks now and this is what I've learned so far.

1. I've made most of the newbie mistakes ya'll have seen over and over!

2. I really bought too much bow to start out with (50# @28",wanted one to hunt with:wink:) I tire after 40 shots or so,but more about that later.

3. The arrows I bought are way over-spined, used the wrong chart.

4. I like 3 fingers under, I get a much smoother release and am much more accurate than split finger.

5. My elevation is suprisingly good, windage is what gets me, release, anchor, arrow spine issues. form form form.

6. I can't make up my mind about an anchor point, keep going back and forth, I need to PICK ONE!

7. At 15 yards I'm plenty accurate to hunt but I'll NOT make that newbie mistake, consistent accuracy in the 20-25 yard range is what I'm after.

8. Practicing with the recurve has improved my compound accuracy!!! My concentration and release is MUCH better with the compound now.

9. I LOVE SHOOTING MY RECURVE, I love getting back to fingers on the string and being more connected to the shot.

Now for my question. As I said, I bought a 50# @ 28" recurve that I'm drawing to 29" after 40 arrows or so I'm really too tired to shoot with much form, I have an old round wheel compound (PSE Lazer Magnum), 50% break over, that suckers about 50" long, really. I'm practicing with it bare bow at 55#, holding 25-30. Is this valid practice? It seems to me that its not too much different than a 30# recurve would be.