Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

I am new to archery, have only been shooting for 8 weeks. I am looking at buying a second hand bow and have pretty much decided on a mathews. I have two to choose from, one is the conquest 3 for $400, the other is the 2002 Rival Pro for $250.
Is the conquest 3 that much better than the Rival Pro.

Thanks

Dave

·
74,535 Posts
Rival Pro

Its one of the best shooting Mathews bows made today. Go for the Rival.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Daniel Boone,
I should also add that I will be mostly target and field shooting. It's very unlikely that I will do any hunting.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
After browsing the classifieds here, I'm starting to think about a protec or ultratec instead
Any opinions?

·
Registered
441 Posts
I shoot field and target with my Rival. It's one of the sweetest bows mathews makes. Great bow for shooting spots.:)

·
Banned
736 Posts
Cut through the muck--

If you're really serious about a target bow you might as well start out with something you're most likely to end up with in the end anyway--a MARTIN ;)

·
74,535 Posts
Ultratec or Rival

Both are great bows, I wouldnt mind one of the new Hoyt spiral cam bows myself. Both are good bows. My suggestin would be go to local pro shop and shoot some different bows.

·
Registered
1,783 Posts
Rival. All the way. I shot one just the once, and have been daydreaming since. The only thing that's ever come close was a Protec with 2419's, and that would have been useless.

Conquest is a Rival with less brace height and not much more in the way of speed. Bit of a waste of time, really.

JHMO

·
Registered
2,389 Posts
that's a very good price for the rival if it's in good shape..
That's about an average price for a used conquest3...
They are both great bows... go for which one you like
the best regardless of our opinions...

·
Registered
4,006 Posts