Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried or used this release for 3D, League or Hunting? I am considering purhasing this release but am looking for some feedback.

Thanks

·
Registered
455 Posts
Love my Eagle

I got an Eagle from Kidron Sports Center in Apple Creek, OH upon recommentation from one of Ohios best archers. I have never been so happy with a release in my life. I started with a caliper and then the Mongoose. I started shooting the Mongoose with Back Tension and when the Eagle came in it was a fairly easy transition.

Tips from the pro:
Don't consider it a trigger release.
There are many ways to fire it, I shorten it up till it is deep in the middle knuckle, stiffen up my fingers and pull back. You will never feel it this way, and punching is difficult.

I did have to take it apart and polish the sears, they were a bit sticky. Then I put carwax on the sears and it is smooooth as silk.

I hunt with it, and will be 3ding with it too.

Jim G,

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Copper John Eagle

Thanks Jim G.

So as I understand it the release fires as you pull through and naturally tension your hand. Do you shoot it on a loop, or righ on the string?

·
Registered
455 Posts
If you hook your fingers on the release (nice and deep) you just pull and it goes off. The release head, being between the first and second finger balances out the weight on your first and second finger. You really don't know which side the trigger is on while in the shot, now just pull. Prior to pulling, you put tension against the trigger/finger bar. Now keep that tension in your fingers and pull with elbow. Shot goes off. If you don't put the release deep in the knuckles you will try to shoot by flexing your first two fingers...not backtension. Putting the release deep in the knuckles makes it almost impossible to pull any further with your fingers, hense the back tension is necessary.