Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the sport (and rather cheap). However, I did just purchase a drop down rest recommended by those in my archery club and I bet half of the guys are using it.

It is made by Allen. You know the cheap stuff at Wal-Mart. The only thing I have done is replace the felt provided with some thinner mole skin.

After reading the evaluation, I noticed that the Copper John ScaredyCAT Pro is almost Identical.

The Allen actually seems to have better containment with two longer prongs to ensure the arrow stays in the rest as it comes up. It also has a small rubber holder for when the rest is down (takes a little wax or armorall to keep the arrow from squeaking until it is lifted out).

Here is the kicker. The Allen is selling for just under $18 compared to $60 !!!! Wow!!! That really kicks up the bang for your buck factor!!

Thought I would throw this out there to see what you all think. ALways trying to pick the brains of those who know.

Thanks
A Rod

·
Registered
578 Posts
drop away

Wow- first time I had seen one of these products. Allen is starting to ring a bell now. Price looks good- Id like to see this product in next yrs.

·
Registered
11,715 Posts
Only drop rest I've tried. Easy to put on and setup. I have a problem with them though. It looks like my camo arrows leave a trail behind. That would seem t o suggest that the rest isn't dropping fast enough.
Can't beat the price. Simple but adjustable just like the big guys.

·
Registered
4,314 Posts
i had one on my bow last year and loved it.when i got my new o7 bow i bought one in AT classifieds brand new for 11.00 no problems what so ever great rest.thay have a bunch of them on ebay all the time.

·
Registered
329 Posts