Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
faller downer
2,654 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had and shot well the Carbon Express Maxima Hunter 250 but was going on an Elk hunt and was talked into buying heavier arrows..bad move. My local ( 40 miles away) and very attentive Bow shop did not have what I wanted (CE Pile Drivers)so I bought what they had.... GT Kenetic hunter 400's all for a 25 grn addition. My Quiver rubber was stretched out so i had to buy another one because of a smaller diameter shaft and now after all this ( retuning & re zeroing) I just cant seem to hit the broad side of a barn consistently..leaving in 8 days and just about ready to call it off. I'm a newbie at all this so telling me to do this & that about trying to fine tune is not logical. I'll screw it up more than it is now..if thats possible.

Is this all in my head or can a simple arrow change make this much difference?

talk me off the ledge guys!

·
Registered
6,860 Posts
When you change your arrows, you have to retune your bow, and in my experience especially if you go from a standard carbon to small diameter carbon. You need to start from the beginning. Paper tune, broadhead tune, and get everything set for your hunt.

·
Registered
687 Posts
good luck with the tuning and the hunt. if i did not know much about setting up a bow i would take it to a shop. it will save you alot of time on set up plus you will have more confidence in your bow as-well. what is your set up that will help out a lot.

·
faller downer
2,654 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It had been re tuned when I bought the arrows ..I have not yet been able to be consistent enough to screw with broadheads

Shop says they are swamped .. cant guarantee anything time wise & I have learned if I'm not there the entire time ..no telling what will happen.

oh yea .. Ross Carnivore 31 60# 28 inch draw

·
faller downer
2,654 Posts
Discussion Starter #9