Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well they say you get what you pay for. i was given a longbow for free as long as i paid shipping. i got it yesterday and saw that one of the tips had two lengthwise (tip to tip direction) cracks on them one on each side of one of the string nock points. the other end looks fine. the crack runs about 2 inches towards the other tip, and is visible only after you try and string the bow.
the bow shoots fine but my questions:
1) can i fix this? can i cut the tips down 1.5 inches and make new nocks?
2)can i attach (glue, exposy....) something to the tip to strengthen the tip and decrease the importance of this crack.
the layers of the tip are still intact.
help.....i really wanted this bow to work out.
can someone recommend an artice or post on selecting the correct string?
thanks

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
glass

i have take a close look, i am very new to all of this. the bow is a Ben Pearson Cougar 706-64". if that helps, from others descriptions i believe this is glass laminated but i may be wrong. how can i check?

·
Registered
252 Posts
Not sure of the model. I have a Pearson Cougar that is a 62in recurve. Might be only stress crack in glass. Can you tell how deep the crack is when strung?

·
Registered
151 Posts
Thats a tough call, even a bow that appears perfect can break. I have heard, that a bow can be shot with shallow vertical stress cracks and I have heard the cracks will get worse over time and lead to limb failure.

Any damage to a bow is suspect and tip damage is really suspect. If the crack is through the glass and into the wood, I would use it as a wall hanger or turn it over to a pro and see what he suggest. I have tried bow repairs with epoxy and fiberglass and it ended with poor results. Cutting the tips off and cutting in new tips would be a job for a pro, even if possible. It's probably not a good option.