Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year bow hunting. I am originally from Michigan where there was more open land to shoot than anyone knew what to do with. I now live in Connecticut where there is little hunting land. Being new to bow hunting, I want to be sure my skills and accuracy are on point. I am curious if there are any public places (state land or other) where I can place my stand and do a little target practice legally. I get a good amount of ground level practice in my backyard at about 25 yards, but I need to get some experience from an elevated surface. If there are any Connecticut hunters who know how or where this can be done, please fill me in. I am looking forward to my first season in the woods with a bow in my hand.

·
Registered
115 Posts
I would NOT do this on state land in CT. I haven't been there yet but Andover Archery is supposed to have some decent 3D targets including platform and tree Stan configurations.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is it public or do you have to be a member? Many of the places I have found are member type organizations. Also, I am looking to use my stand. I need to get used to elevated shooting.

·
Registered
28 Posts
There's Cos Cob archers in Greenwich. They are a private club but they have a treestand shot in the 3D circuit which is open to the public. They are on bible street off orchard. Nice club

Where in Ct are you?

·
Registered
626 Posts
how far are you from NY/NJ?
our club range is also public if you get a parking permit from the parks department (think its $15 for the year)
has a practice range and 28 targets in the woods, I see guys take their stands in all the time

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I am in central CT in Berlin. how would I go about going to the club in Greenwich? Do I need to make a reservation or can I just show up and head on in to shoot?

·
Registered
28 Posts