Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up a leftover CT5 and need some help getting it setup. 80lb, 29" draw. Trying Black Eagle Spartans in .200 and .250 at 28.5", various point weights and 75 gr brass inserts. Using a Hamskea Trinity Hunter Pro. I don't have a scale but the limb bolts are currently maxed out so assume it's at 80 lbs for now.

When I set arrow/rest center shot per the Prime manual, I get the following nock left tears with bareshafts:

CT5 Paper.jpg

If I move the rest to the right (closer to the riser) a fair amount, like 3/16-1/4", I can almost get bullet holes with the .200 spine/100 gr point/75 gr insert set up...still a little nock left though.

That seems like a long ways to move a rest to get it shooting proper, but I'm new to tuning so I don't know much. One thing that caught my eye is the cable running through the string donut isn't even and stuff kind of looks crooked up there. Could that be causing it?

CT5 Top Cam.jpg

My press just showed up today so I can start fiddling around. What would be the best approach? Adjust the Flexis AR? Adjust the cables or yokes? Other ideas? Thoughts are appreciated.

·
Registered
181 Posts
I would start from the ground up.

-Max out limb bolts
-check ATA (35 +/- 1/8) and brace. Check draw weight. Add or remove cable twists to get the poundage spot on.
-Sync cams. Line up the 4 sync dots with a straight edge via cable twists for static timing and move the draw stops all the way out. Many arguments are had over the importance of the sync dots but I can tell you if they align then your dynamic timing will be spot on or extremely close (it’s a starting point).
-reset centershot at 7/8 horizontal and vertical
-tighten flexis all the way down to start.