Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

· Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I am fairly new to archery. My current bow is the only modern bow I have owned. It is a 2006 Tribute. I have tried to do everything I could to make the bow the best it could be. I installed Bob Lambeth grips, had it super tuned by Terminal Velocity, new strings/cables.

My question is:

I keep getting "new-bow-itis". I would HAVE TO sell/trade the Tribby to get a new bow. Are any of the new Bowtechs like the General/Admiral really that much better?

I need a pretty fast/but forgiving bow since my draw is 27 1/2" and I shoot 61 1/2 Lbs. Right now I am getting about 270ish FPS with a 357 grain arrow.

My bow is great is far as I am concerned. I have learned to shoot it well enough to hunt. It seems pretty quiet. I know since Michael tuned it it is probably as good as it can be.

Oh, and real kicker is I am a lefty in a small town, so its not like I can just go out and shoot the new bows to try them out.

Thanks for the feedback!

Jonrobinson

· Registered
3,141 Posts
If you are happy with it,shoot well with it,KEEP IT!

I am a lefty as well and I have owned Tributes over the last couple of years.They are in my opinion one of the best bows Bowtech ever made.

The new bows have made some changes as far as draw length adjustments,speed,etc.But if you feel confident with the Tribute and how you shoot it don't rush to get rid of it.

· Registered
2,526 Posts
I own an 06 Tribute. I bought an Admiral last weekend.

I will be keeping the Tribute until it dies. If I had to get rid of the Tribute to buy the Admiral. I'd have kept the Tribute.

So, if you can keep the Tribute and buy a new 09, go for it.

If not, hang on to one of the best bows ever made.

· THE BAR Bartender
21,417 Posts
I was intrigued by the 82nd but.............kept my Tributes.:)

· Registered
9,862 Posts