Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks,

I am new to hunting or even shooting a bow and i have to admit I am adicted already. I have been looking online at some really great looking arrows people customize. I am now trying to find out how I can learn to do this? I dont know where to by feathers, Blank arrow shafts or anything. I mean I know I can buy shafts from ICS and beman etc but how do I get shafts that have nothing painted on them at all? What do the weights mean? There is so much for me to learn but I don't even know how to get started. Can any of you help me?

Thanks

·
Registered
34,166 Posts
Well that is an easy problem to solve....and building your own arrows isn't hard at all. You can get everything you need from just about any archery shop. But I get 95% of my stuff from Lancaster Archery in PA. As long as it is in stock and you order before 1-2:00 it will usually be at your house the next day. You can order just the shafts and if you don't want to buy an arrow saw they will cut them to the length you want before they send them to you (this will usually add a day to your shipping time though). After you have your shafts all you will need is some vanes or feathers, which ever you choose, wraps if you want them, nocks, glue, and a fletching jig. They also have a book that will teach you how to build them.

Here is a link to their site but they are also an AT sponsor.

http://www.lancasterarchery.com/shop/index.php

·
Registered
2,718 Posts