Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what is a deers favorite food i read that corn is at the bottom of the foods that they eat whats at the top and where do beans fall in???

·
Registered
869 Posts
Acorns are #1 around my parts. They hit the beans early before season even starts. Beans have already turned yellow in NE Ohio. They hit the corn late in the season. They also like my Biologic plot after the first frost.:D

·
Registered
9 Posts
I'm far from an expert, but I would probably say that a deers favorite food is going to vary a lot from place to place and season to season. Acorns are probably the most wide spread and well-known but if there isn't a large crop in this particular year then they won't do you any good. So I'd say that a deer's favorite food is the "best it can find right now." If there is an old apple orchard where you hunt that may be their favorite, etc.

I do know that a lot of people bait with corn so they have to like eating it. Also farmers take a lot of crop damage in their corn from deer. I was driving down the road the other day and saw a buck laying in a bean field, eating I assume (couldn't stop to look).

·
Registered
851 Posts
I read an article last year, forgot the publication but basically they radio tracked several deer to determine their eating habits. The results showed
that when acorns (especially white oak) were on the ground it accounted
for approximately 75% of their diet. Of the whitetails I have harvested
over the last 28 years with a bow, a major portion of those was hunting
near oak trees or travel routes to and from oak trees. My stand Saturday
morning is near some white oaks that have already started to fall.

·
Registered
5,101 Posts
Acorns or apples, its about a toss up I think.

·
Registered
416 Posts
I would have to go with acorns as well.

·
Registered
3,944 Posts