Archery Talk Forum banner

Did i do the right thing?

851 Views 16 Replies 16 Participants Last post by  slickstalker
Alright guys I need some consoling. I ended up having a nice 8 pt come in to my food plot this weekend right at last light and I studied him as much as I could and it was obvious that he was an extremely old deer. Huge body, pot belly, Greyish coat, and when I got him I noticed he was missing many teeth. I would guess him at at least a five year old maybe plus. Although, his rack was really pretty weak compared to some other bucks that i believe I have on my land. I just felt as though I was obligated to take this buck out of my herd for management reasons. I have saw on hunting shows this done but I never thought that I would be put in this situation. Now I am a little disapointed in the fact that my season is done because of the one buck limit in Indiana. I feel as though I would have easily had a chance at a better buck had I held off on him. Did I do the right thing?What would some of you guys have done had you been in my shoes?
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
2,005 Posts
I think you did the right thing. It will help with managment and everything, and I don't know about you, but every buck is a good buck to me.

· Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think you did the right thing. It will help with managment and everything, and I don't know about you, but every buck is a good buck to me.

Thanks buddy, Am i definetely agree with you. They are all trophies. All they all put damn good food on the table. I am just ready to get that one buck were all looking for.

· Registered
2,477 Posts
old bucks are always trophies, no matter what size antlers they have. same thing with does

· Registered
2,312 Posts
For whatever its worth.. I would have done the same thing.. Your trying to keep good land and herd management, and he and any other big buck will taste the same... Just be gratefull you had the chance...!

· Registered
4,250 Posts