Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, I apologize if there are other threads out there on this topic that I did not see. :) I am fairly new to archery and bow hunting, so I'm still learning a lot. Why do people have a different bow for 3D vs. Targets vs. Hunting, etc? Why can't the same bow be used for all three?

·
Registered
Moxie Antigen. Hoyt Carbon Spyder.
1,167 Posts
The same bow can be used for all three... but where's the fun in that! Many archers are also gear guys that love to play w/ different toys.

·
Registered
758 Posts
Exactly what is above. And, if your primary focus is hunting, it would be to your benefit to use the same bow for everything. Maintaining that shot-consistency throughout the year, in preparation for hunting, is paramount. My thoughts and worth exactly as much as paid.

·
Registered
9,763 Posts
The same bow can be used for all three types of hunting, usually a 35-37" ATA bow would fit the bill nicely. I would personally use a Prime Centergy Hybrid LD (35" ATA 7" brace height) or a PSE Evolve 35 but I have a 31" draw length and prefer accuracy over speed (I get a lot of speed thru my longer draw), If I had a small draw length I would probably go for something faster for 3D and hunting. My wife uses a Xpedition 6" brace SD cam for hunting and 3d (little hump in the draw and stiff to draw), but she has an old Hoyt target bow with cam and a half cams that she loves for known 3D and target that is smooth as silk, it's 37" ATA.
A shorter brace height will give you 10 feet per second faster because the power stroke is an inch longer. A longer brace height is usually a little more forgiving but slower. Same can be said for ATA length. Short is faster and a little less forgiving.
Some people like to have a bling bow with bright colors for 3D and target, and a camo bow for hunting!