Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Real helos, have 2 rotors
10,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using Spitfires for the last 5 yrs. Doc's threads on broadheads versus phone books got me thinking.

I have killed deer with Spitfires after impact with heavy bone on at least 3 occasions. In all cases the head stayed intact, but the arrow shattered.

Resulting penetration was poor, but still lethal. I doubt ANY amount of K.E. would have improved penetration significantly.

In my opinion once the arrow shatters it dissipates all the energy and it can't push the head through.

I think the reason the arrows shattered was because of the large cutting dia of the Spitfires.

I don't think it is possible to force that wide of a head through heavy bone without a much stronger arrow material. Stronger than any arrow material to date.

If I can get the Strikers to hit within 2" of my field tips at 20 yrds with a 5 M.P.H. crosswind, I will have them in my quiver next month.

·
Registered
8,308 Posts
I shot Spitfire XP Pro's last year, my problem with them was not arrow shafts shattering.

Shot an Allegiance which developed about #75 of K.E.

Whenever bone or rib was contacted, the aluminum ferrule bent.

I am not much for a $12 disposable broadhead.

This year = Slick Tricks.

·
10,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't think a bent ferrule is very bad. It makes the head unshootable, but it does not really affect the performance "in the meat". It is true that the head must be discarded, but it has already done its job.

If blades break off, or the arrow stops moving, the head cannot complete the task at hand. I consider that broadhead failure.

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
I shot spitfire xp's last year with good results and some nasty pass thrus, I doubled lunged a buck this past weekend and had a broke blade on the striker, but I will still use them. I dont think 2" will be a problem. They fly like darts.

·
In 'Da Head
24,266 Posts