Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm keen to purchase my first bow and it seems I have a 30.5 inch draw length. I'm only 5'10" but I have long arms. Anyway I got that measurement by stretching out when I took my measurement and it come in at about 76.38inches but if I do it relaxed (as I've now seen in some instruction videos), and I get more like 74.80 inches. Using the "armspam/2.5", this puts me about 30-30.5 inches I think.

I'm asking because so many bows state they max out at 30 inches. In looking, I've had some shops suggest old stock higher-level bows (prime, hoyt, bowtech) that are 30inches only and they've said "they might be ok". I'm pretty happy to get in there and try them out, but I'd like to know what I'm looking for. Since I'm a beginner, I don't know if my form is going to be great and it'd be good to know if there are things I need to look for, or should I believe the proshop?

I'm planning on shooting a tension release like an evolution or a silverback, or possibly a thumb release like a stan, but I've read the best way to learn is to do backtension only with good form from the start. I know I might be better off with a longer release like a whippersnapper or something though but I thought to mention it.

Looking forward to the advice.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,569 Posts
I believe 30 in. will work out perfectly with correct form and anchor. I HIGHLY doubt it would be too short.
And it will, as you alluded to, free you up on your bow choices. Keep in mind that most manufacturers run about 1/2 in. long on draw length anyway and it's always easier, in my opinion, to add some draw length if needed by giving the cables a couple of twists.

·
(aka lug nut)
49,669 Posts
Hi all,