Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
8,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at buying a draw board to have in my basement shop. How often do you guys use yours and exactly what all can you do with it? I'm new to bow tuning and I'm getting the itch to do some. I have a LCA ez press, bow vise, paper tuner and a 4'×4' range target. I can shoot 18.5 yards so I have a nice little setup, just looking to try and get my feet wet in tuning beyond paper and walk back.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

·
One Shot
9,198 Posts
You can:

Measure draw weight.
Measure draw length.
Check cam lean at full draw or along the way.
Check cam sync at full draw.
Time a drop away rest.

Probably some other stuff. I like them and use mine a ton; there are members here who will tell you all about how useless they are. For the low cost involved, it's worth forming your own opinion.

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
I think anyone who wants to work on a bow should have one. Sure, you can check most things without one but it either takes a friend to help or is really tough and or dangerous to check by yourself. You can build one for less than $50 so why not have one, even if you only use it a couple of times a year?

·
Registered
8,365 Posts
I'll add onto the list above.

Check holding weight to make sure cams are set up properly.
Watch nock travel.
If you retrofit it or set it up correctly, it can be a hooter shooter if you wanted to use something like this.
Look for any interference in cables hitting cams or rubbing or anything like that.

·
Registered
4,802 Posts
All of the above. But, be aware of the offset required to get accurate d/l reading.
The pipe or dowel rod used at the low point of grip should be offset from winch line the same distance as the measurement from low point of grip to berger button hole. Otherwise the bow will rotate some and cause d/l measurement to be wrong.

·
Registered
3,076 Posts